James T. Neubacher Award

The James T. Neubacher award is presented to a faculty member, staff member, student, or alum of the University for significant achievements in:

  • Empowering people with disabilities.
  • Advocating for or advancing disability rights or disability justice
  • Increasing the accessibility of programs and services to promote disability inclusion.

    Congratulations 2022 Award Recipients

    Please read more about this year's honorees in the blue panel below.

    • 2022 Neubacher Award Winner - Jill Sklar, Administrative Director, Capacity Management, Michigan Medicine
    • 2022 Honorable Mentions
      • Amal Alhosban, Associate Professor, Computer Science, U-M Flint
      • Corinne Basler, U-M Alumus
      • Ellen Rambo, Training Specialist Associate, U-M Organizational Learning
      • Dr. Michael McKee, Director, MDisability
      • Laura, Yakas, U-M School of Social Work
      • Print Accessibility Task Force, U-M Ann Arbor
      • University of Michigan Adaptive and Inclusive Sports Experience (UMAISE), U-M Ann Arbor

    The award is sponsored by the U-M Council for Disability Concerns, Equity, Civil Rights, and Title IX Office, University Human Resources, Michigan Medicine, and the Office of the President.

    View the 2022 Award Presentation via Zoom Webinar on Friday, November 4, at 1:00 p.m. (EST).

    The James T. Neubacher presentation webinar is available at this link, Passcode: 050030. ASL and CART services will be provided. 

    Make a Nomination for 2023 Now!

    Nominations for the 2023 Neubacher Award can be made now!