James T. Neubacher Award

The James T. Neubacher award is presented to a faculty member, staff member, student, or alum of the University for significant achievements in:

  • Empowering people with disabilities.
  • Advocating for or advancing disability rights or disability justice
  • Increasing the accessibility of programs and services to promote disability inclusion.

Nominations are Sought for the 2022 Awards through August 15!

Nominations for the 33rd Neubacher Award can be made now! The final date for nominations is August 15, 2022. 

    Congratulations 2021 Award Recipients

    Please read more about this year's honorees in the blue panel below.

    • 2021 Neubacher Award Winner - Vincent Pinti, UM-AA Student 
    • 2021 Honorable Mentions
      • Dr. Oluwaferanmi O. Okanlami, Faculty, Michigan Medicine
      • Dr. M. Remi Yergeau, Faculty, U-M Ann Arbor
      • Hala Alazzawi, UM-Dearborn alum, U-M Ann Arbor Masters Student
      • Dr. Ann Jeffers, Faculty, U-M Ann Arbor
      • Graduate Employees Organization (GEO) U-M Students, All Campuses
      • Harvey “Chip” Evans, Staff, U-M Flint
      • The Learning Experience Design Team at the Center for Academic Innovation, Staff, U-M Ann Arbor

    The award is sponsored by the U-M Council for Disability Concerns, Equity, Civil Rights, and Title IX Office, University Human Resources, Michigan Medicine, and the Office of the President.

    View the 2021 Award Presentation via Zoom Webinar on October 29, 2021, at 2:00 p.m. (EST).

    The James T. Neubacher presentation webinar is available at this link. ASL and CART services will be provided.

    Make a Nomination for 2022 Now!

    Nominations for the 33rd Neubacher Award can be made now!