Distinguished Diversity Leaders Award

After a three-year pause, the Distinguished Diversity Leaders Award is back!

Make a nomination!

The Distinguished Diversity Leaders Award was established to shine a light on those staff members who work toward achieving a welcoming, supportive, and inclusive working environment. It is intended to celebrate those who embrace the value of diversity and recognize how it helps set the university apart. 

Join us in celebrating the 12th annual Distinguished Diversity Leaders Award by submitting nominations for staff and teams demonstrating an extraordinary commitment and dedication to diversity at the University of Michigan. Award money will be used for professional development activities and/or training.

  • Ten $1,000 awards for individuals
  • Five $2,500 awards for teams

Award recipients will be honored at a breakfast ceremony held in January 2024. 

This award is made possible by the Office of the Provost, the Equity, Civil Rights, and Title IX Office, and University Human Resources to celebrate progress toward creating a diverse, equitable, and inclusive environment.


Jennifer Wade
Administrative Specialist
Equity, Civil Rights, and Title IX

Nominations for 2023 can be made anytime.

A nomination announcement will be made in the fall with the deadline in early October 2023. Nominations after this date will be retained for the next award cycle.

Nominations must be at least 500 words to receive consideration. See "Writing Sample for a Nomination" for reference. The nomination deadline is Oct. 4, 2023.

  • If making a team nomination, please include ALL team members' names and their contact information in the "Description of Nominee's Contributions to Diversity at Michigan" field.  

  • If you would like more than one nominator to be listed, please include ALL nominator names and their contact information in the "Description of Nominee's Contributions to Diversity at Michigan" field. 

To recognize faculty who champion diversity, please see the Harold R. Johnson Diversity Service Award.