Candace J. Johnson Award for Staff Excellence

Warning message

Submissions for this form are closed.

Thanks for your interest in recognizing staff who deliver exceptional support! See a list of the Candace J. Johnson Award for Staff Excellence recipients.

Award Update - Two Awards Planned for 2024

  • Due to unavoidable circumstances, The Candace J. Johnson Award for Staff Excellence was not presented in 2023.
  • The Office of the Provost recognizes the importance of continuing to honor the exceptional contributions of our staff members and is planning an update to the award. 
  • In light of the pause, we will celebrate the achievements of two outstanding staff members during the next award cycle.
  • Please check back in fall 2024 to nominate deserving staff members who exemplify the spirit of excellence that Candace J. Johnson represented.

About the Award

The Candace J. Johnson Award for Staff Excellence recognizes University of Michigan staff members whose commitment to excellence, teamwork, and a supportive environment make the university a great place to work.

Candy Johnson, a long-time staff member in the Office of the Provost, was dedicated to U-M and the people who support and further its mission. Candy strove for excellence and inspired others to do the same. She recognized the gifts and talents of her office colleagues and was unfailingly supportive of them. When Candy passed away in 2003, the provost’s office chose to honor her contributions to U-M by establishing this award in her memory. A $1000 award and a certificate are presented annually by the Office of the Provost. Gifts from Candy’s friends and colleagues support the award.

The Candace J. Johnson Staff Award for Excellence recognizes staff members who, like Candy, are a positive influence in the workplace. We invite nominations of people who truly make a difference in their office.


  • All regular staff members on the Ann Arbor campus and at Michigan Medicine are eligible.
  • Staff may be nominated by colleagues or supervisors or a combination of the two.

Questions about the award? Please ask via email

Nomination Form Available Fall 2024

Please look for an email announcement in early 2024 when the form will be available.