New Members Elected to the Police Department Oversight Committee

This spring, elections were held for the Senate faculty, non-Senate faculty, and non-bargained for staff representative seats on the U-M Police Department Oversight Committee. The committee receives and makes recommendations regarding grievances against any police officer deputized by the university.

The new representatives serving two-year terms beginning July 2020 are:

  • Senate Faculty: Sarah Peitzmeier, Assistant Professor of Nursing, School of Nursing
  • Non-Senate Faculty: Nora Krinitsky, Lecturer I in the Residential College, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
  • Non-Bargained for Staff: Rachel Dawson, Managing Director of Precision Health

The six-member oversight committee includes two student members, two faculty members (one Senate and one non-Senate faculty), and two staff members (one union and one non-union). The union staff representative election will be held in spring 2021.

Learn more about the committee and its procedures.