Diversity Award Celebrates Staff Contributions

Group photo of individual award winners of the 2018 Distinguished Diversity Leaders Award for Staff

Recipients of the 10th annual Distinguished Diversity Leaders Award for University of Michigan staff were celebrated Monday, December 10, 2018, at an afternoon ceremony at the Michigan League.

The 10 individual winners received $1,000 each. Five teams also received $2,500 each. The prizes are to be used toward professional development activities. See photos of the recipients on the DDLA webpage.

The event was opened by Jeffrey Frumkin, associate vice provost and interim senior director of the Office for Institutional Equity. The ceremony also included comments by Sellers and closing remarks from Sonya Jacobs, director of health sciences faculty development and chief organizational learning officer.

Highlights of the award presentation included a retrospective video consisting of interviews with key sponsors of the award, including Laurita Thomas, associate vice president for human resources. Additionally, short videos provided by nominators were shown, which added a personal touch to each award presentation.

This award is made possible by the Office of the Provost and University Human Resources to celebrate progress toward creating a diverse, equitable and inclusive environment.

Individual winners

  • Kadesha Baker, University Human Resources, U-M Children's Centers
  • LaTonya Berryhill, Michigan Institute for Clinical & Health Research
  • Blake Bonkowski, Office for Student Engagement, UM-Dearborn
  • Hector Galvan, Office of Academic Multicultural Initiatives
  • Jeanne Murabito, College of Engineering, Office of Student Affairs
  • Diana Parrish, University Health Service
  • Ingrid Racine, Center for World Performance Studies, Residential College
  • Darlene Ray-Johnson, Rackham Graduate School Dean's Office
  • Janice Reuben, Center for the Education of Women
  • Michael Turner, Center for Educational Outreach

Team winners

  • Comprehensive Gender Services Program Team
  • College of Engineering and Computer Science Graduate Student Support Group, UM-Dearborn
  • We Listen Staff Planning Committee
  • UM-Flint Women's Commission
  • IDEA Committee of the Career Services Network

A Message from Robert M. Sellers, Vice Provost for Equity and Inclusion and Chief Diversity Officer

This year’s recipients represent a diverse cross-section of the University, including 10-individuals and five teams. With recognition in areas such as gender, student support, and accessibility, this work is a testament to U-M’s dedication to diversity, equity, and inclusion. The diverse representation of work across all three academic campuses, Michigan Medicine, and throughout the entire university community, continues to be a driving force in creating impactful, long-lasting change.

Through this group’s collective efforts, the University of Michigan continues to thrive in developing a community where all are welcome and are provided with the opportunities to excel.

In addition to this year’s award recipients, it is essential to recognize the efforts of so many that have come before them. Whether members of the preceding nine groups of Distinguished Diversity Leaders or colleagues of the University community engaged in DEI work, their dedication and determination displayed across U-M is essential to the University’s long-term success.

On behalf of the Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, congratulations to this year’s Distinguished Diversity Leaders, their commitment and contributions towards diversity, equity and inclusion at U-M has greatly impacted the University community.