Congratulations to the Individual and Team Award Winners and Finalists of the 2013 President’s Staff Innovation Award!


Individual Award Winner

Mike Nazareth

Director for Graduate Recruiting, College of Engineering

For innovative strategies in Ph.D. student recruiting that yielded the most academically qualified and diverse class in College of Engineering history.

Winning Team

South Quadrangle Residence Hall Facilities & Custodial Team
Team Members: Sally Gonzales
(Interim Associate Director Housing Facilities), Randy Latham (Building Facilities Manager) and David Camp (Custodian)

For introducing an innovative new cleaning method using Liquid Ozone that is more sustainable, less expensive, and safer for staff and residence hall occupants than traditional cleaning approaches. Based on their innovation, University Housing is now saving approximately $50,000 annually in operating costs, with future budget savings expected.


Individual Award Finalists

Anya Dale, Office of Campus Sustainablity
Teri Grieb, Ph.D., Michigan Institute for Clinical & Health Research (MICHR)

Team Finalists

—Shari Barnett, Laurie Kirchmeier, Carey Chesney

Education Abroad—Amy Conger, Stacie Edington, Lisa Emery, Lynn Lyke-Whiting

LSA Shared Services—Kim Angelopoulos, Lisa Frye, Jason Beck, Lisa Kisabeth, Jake Crawford, Halley Sissom, Josh DeYoung, Patty Boyer, Kristie Faust, Patricia Preston, Denise Looker, Kathy Halleck, Karen Higgs-Payne, Michele Kinker, Sherri Swanson, Lori Hogan, Anne Thomson, Sarah Hallum

Residence Education Move In/Move Out—Jeffrey Micale and Kyle Walton